Wandering Octopi – Art Abandonment Project

One day amongst a pile of my beads, some tiny beaded octopi suddenly appeared. They hung around my house exploring for a few days before leaving to explore the world and hopefully find new homes. I hope their new owners love them as much as I loved them.

beaded octopus art abandonment group
My first batch of octopi to be released into the wild.

Inspired by Atomic Shrimp’s beadmen and Urban Thread’s Giving Bunny I thought I’d have a go at spreading my art through the community. One of my favourite things to do is make tiny beaded octopuses so I thought that it would be an appropriate piece of art to abandon. Every now and then other little friends may go a-wandering.

I discovered that there is a whole community out there spreading happiness thought the free sharing of art. Art Abandonment’s Facebook page is a good place to start if you want to join in.

If enough people are interested I’ll make a tutorial for my octopi and have links to the tags I print off. If each artist has their own letter and number code (mine is HOD##) we can see where each octopus ends up!

If you want to see what and where I have abandoned and photos from those who have found them, click here!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For those who have found one of my little friends, please comment below, and include the designation code on the tag so I know who you have found (should be HOD##). I would love to know that my tiny creations had a new home! These comments are moderated so may take a little time to show. If you don’t want your comment public, send any comments to HippieOtterDesigns@gmail.com. You can even email photos of your new friend to the same address and they will be added to the Facebook album above (unless you tell me not to).

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hugh
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 10:21:10

    HOD 04 has been adopted will update with his adventures

    Reply

  2. Hugh
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 13:20:40

    The Octopi previuosly known as HOD 04 has been named as Pod Woking
    been in office all day working on laptop
    got to attend birthay party Nice cake

    Reply

  3. Trackback: First Folksy order and a suprise. | Hippie Otter's Den
  4. Joe Martin
    May 11, 2014 @ 10:05:29

    HOD 12 Safely adopted! Found in Sheldon Church, Devon. I think this project is amazing! Great work! HOD 12′s new mane is Simon Azura. I hope he will enjoy his time with me! Thank you very much! Please reply!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

All images in this blog are copyright Hippie Otter Designs and must not be used for commercial purposes. Images can be used on personal blogs/websites/Pintrest/ect as long as there is a link back to this blog or my Folksy shop.


I am not affiliated with any of the fairs and markets I attend. All my views are mine alone and only reflect what I personally experienced on the day. Experiences at fairs and market can vary from venue, the type of crafts you are selling, the general mood of the day and many other factors that are out of anybody’s control. As such I hold no responsibility for any experiences you may have at any fairs or markets that I mention in this blog.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

